News Advice and Links Archived News Advice and Links Archived News Stories The Boston One-Minute Play Festival

The Boston One-Minute Play Festival

Playwrights' Theatre at Boston University
and The One-Minute Play Festival
The Boston One-Minute Play Festival
featuring plays from over 40 local playwrights
January 5 - 7, 2013 at 8pm.
PRESS NIGHT: Press passes will be unavailable for this production.

WHERE: Boston Playwrights' Theatre, 949 Commonwealth Avenue.

BOSTON, MA – Playwrights' Theatre at Boston University and Dominic D'Andrea of The One-Minute Play Festival are pleased to present the 2nd Annual Boston One-Minute Play Festival featuring more than 70 hot-off-the-presses, new one-minute plays.

“I’m so glad to be back in Boston. The community here is really ambitious, smart, and generous,” reflects Dominic D’Andrea, OMPF’s Founder and Artistic Director.“Working with the Playwrights’ Theatre to bring our One-Minute Play Festival to Boston for the second time feels like we are on to something meaningful and necessary with the work, and that feels great!” 

The 2nd Annual Boston One-Minute Play Festival will feature 70 brand new One-Minute Plays by 40 playwrights from Boston and New England’s growing pool of exceptional contemporary writers.

Artists will be working on this emerging short form to explore the relationship between the individual voice and the zeitgeist of a specific region. The playwrights have several weeks to complete scripts, with the only stipulation being that they must be performed in one minute. 

Playwrights are selected by invitation and asked to engage in OMPF’s playmaking approach. Playwrights are encouraged to write about anything they are passionate about, and, as emerging themes or ideas become apparent, the plays are grouped into “clumps” to reflect those elements. Teams of directors and actors work to stage each clump of plays. And the result: 70 fully mounted plays, all staged with 4 chairs. 

"If you think that the Boston Theater Marathon moves fast, these one-minute plays are like lightning!  How many epiphanies can you have in 70 minutes?  (I'll give you one guess.)  And all these wonderful writers, actors and directors….All three nights are fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants wonderful!" – Kate Snodgrass, Artistic Director, Boston Playwrights’ Theatre

The 2013 Festival will feature specially commissioned works by: Barbara Blumenthal-Ehrlich, Elisabeth Burdick, Bill Doncaster, Stephen Faria, Peter Floyd, Patrick Gabridge, Deirdre Girard, Kirsten Greenidge, Israel Horovitz, Colleen M. Hughes, Dan Hunter, Emily Kaye Lazzaro, Christopher Lockheardt, K. Alexa Mavromatis, Walt McGough, James McLindon, Jack Neary, Rick Park, Rosanna Yamagiwa Alfaro, Ken Urban, Mwalim *7, Natalia Naman, Thom Dunn, Grant MacDermott, Elenor Burgess, David Valdes Greenwood, Liz Duffy Adams, Tyler Monroe, Nina Louise Morrison, Lindsay Soson, Noah Tobin, Jaclyn Villano, Lila Rose Kaplan, Ginger Lazarus, Joyce Van Dyke, Michael Bradford, Obehi Janice, and Steven Bogart.

Directed by: Ben Evett, Bridget O’Leary, Vicki Schairer, Jeffrey Mosser, Shana Gozansky, Corianna Moffatt, and Giselle Ty.

“I’m thrilled to announce that we have almost every writer returning this year,” says D’Andrea, “and we’ve also been able to extend the opportunity for some new artists to join this year as well. This Boston OMPF has seen some significant growth, which is great!”

Playwrights' Theatre at Boston University 
and the One-Minute Play Festival present
The Boston One-Minute Play Festival
January 5 - 7, 2013 at 8pm.
For tickets call 866.811.4111 or visit
$20/General Admission
January 5, 2013 at 8pm
January 6, 2013 at 8pm
January 7, 2013 at 8pm
Boston Playwrights’ Theatre
949 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Green Line “B” to Pleasant Street, 57 Bus from Kenmore and Watertown.  
Some street parking is available. Patrons are welcome to park in the lot beneath Harry Agganis Arena next door. Parking is just $2 an hour on most days but may be as much as $25 during concert events.  Please visit for parking rates.


Founded in 1981 at Boston University by Nobel Laureate Derek Walcott, Boston Playwrights' Theatre is an award-winning professional theatre dedicated to new works. At the core of our five programs is the Playwriting MFA offered in the renowned English Department of Boston University’s College of Arts and Sciences. Our award-winning alumni have been produced in Regional and New York houses as well as in London's West End, and our alumni productions have garnered many regional and Boston awards, including 11 IRNE Awards for "Best New Script" and four Boston Critics’ Association Elliot Norton Awards.

For more information please visit


The One-Minute Play Festival (OMPF) is an NYC-based theatre company, founded by producing artistic director Dominic D’Andrea. OMPF works in partnership with theatres and organizations in cities across the country who share missions devoted to new plays and/or a community-specific focus. In each city, OMPF creates a locally sourced playwright-focused community event, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion by representing local playwrights of different age, gender, race, cultures, and points of career. 

The work attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective consciousness and the individual voiceand by giving a voice, through theater, to the current collective conscious found in a specific region. 

OMPF works with partnering organizations to identify programs or initiatives in each community to support with the proceeds from the work. The goal is to find ways give directly back to the artists in each community. Supported programs have ranged from educational programming, youth poetry projects, teaching artists working in prisons, playwright residencies and memberships, and community arts workshops.

OMPF has partnered with theaters in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, New Brunswick, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, D.C., Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, and New York. Current and past partnerships include: Primary Stages, Victory Gardens Theatre, Cornerstone Theatre Company, INTAR Theatre, Playwrights’ Foundation, Actor’s Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Passage Theatre, and others. 

Some notable contributors to OMPF have included: David Henry Hwang, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Lydia Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Michael John Garces, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Sam Hunter, Jose Rivera, Lisa Loomer, Craig Lucas, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garces, along with over 500 famous and emerging writers. 

For more information visit


For more information, please contact:
Michael Duncan Smith at