Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Theatre Community Benevolent Fund
Share |


The Theatre Community Benevolent Fund (TCBF) is a non-profit theatre community organization administered by StageSource for individual theater practitioners and non-profit theater organizations of Greater Boston and the surrounding areas facing dire need and requiring financial relief in a confidential, respectful manner.


Who is eligible to apply?

All active individual theater practitioners – those whose life’s work is the theater, regardless of amount of income from said work – and all operational non-profit organizations of Greater Boston and the surrounding areas are eligible to apply for TCBF funds.   It is expected that individual applicants have an established and documented history of theatrical performance, directing, design, writing, production, or administration in Greater Boston and/or the surrounding areas.


What emergencies fall within TCBF funding parameters?

TCBF funds may be applied toward costs associated with, but not necessarily limited to:

  • Extreme illness

  • Devastating acts of nature such as floods or hurricanes

  • Housing emergencies

  • Vandalism

  • Theft


TCBF funds do not cover costs associated with, but not necessarily limited to:

  • Failed business ventures

  • Elective medical surgery

  • Tuition for classes or academic programs

  • Regular living expenses


Application Process

A review panel comprising the TCBF Board of Directors and the Executive Director of StageSource assesses all applications.  The process is as follows:


  • Applicants are asked initially to submit an Intent to Apply Form as soon as possible after the occurrence has happened or as soon as possible after invoices for the related expenses have been received.  





Here is the "Intent to Apply" form as a PDF

Here is the "Intent to Apply" form as a Word Document


  • The panel will assess the information therein and then notify the applicant as to whether or not the situation meets the criteria for further review within thirty (30) calendar days of receipt of the Intent to Apply form.


  • If the criteria is met, the applicant will be asked to submit a full application within forty-five (45) calendar days of notification.  Individuals are sent the Individual Application form and theater companies are sent the Organizational Application form.  


  • The panel will assess the full application, and applicants will be notified of the panel’s determination in writing within thirty (30) calendar days of receipt of the full application form.


  • If a grant is awarded, the financial assistance, in most cases, will be paid directly to service providers (hospitals, doctors, utilities, mortgage companies, etc.)  Grants paid directly to the applicants are disbursed within thirty (30) calendar days of an award determination.  


  • An applicant may apply up to three times for the same need/occurrence.  An applicant may apply only once per calendar year for the same need/occurrence.



The Theatre Community Benevolent Fund shall not practice discrimination against any applicant for any reason including on the basis of race, color, creed, national origin, gender, gender expression, sexual orientation, political persuasion or belief, age, or disability.



For more information or to request an application be mailed to you, you may contact the Theatre Community Benevolent Fund at or StageSource at either or 617-350-7611.  



TO DONATE, send your tax-deductible contributions to: Theatre Community Benevolent Fund, c/o StageSource, 15 Channel Center Street #103 Boston, MA 02210

Visit for more information on TCBF and to donate online.




TCBF provides financial relief in a confidential, respectful manner to individual theater practitioners and non-profit theater organizations of Greater Boston and the surrounding areas, facing occurrences of a catastrophic nature including but not limited to extreme illness, devastating acts of nature, housing emergencies, vandalism, and theft, and who have limited or no resources with which to handle such events.  TCBF recognizes the essential value of artists and arts organizations to society, and treats all applicants with dignity, discretion, and compassion.




In the Fall of 1997, a Boston-area theater artist became ill with a life-threatening condition.  The theater community decided to throw a party in order to raise funds to help with medical expenses.  The Big Easy nightclub opened its doors free of charge for this event, and actors, producers, writers, designers, directors, and managers all donated their time, money, and expertise.  The party was an unqualified success.  Out of that experience arose the idea to create an organization to aid members of our theater community who are in dire need and do not have the financial resources to meet those needs.  That organization is the Theatre Community Benevolent Fund.  The first directors and officers of TCBF were Polly Hogan and Ron Ritchell, founders of the Lyric Stage and Lyric West Theatre, and Mary C. Huntington, founding artistic director of The Nora Theatre Company.


In order for the Fund to grow and be more effective, the directors approached StageSource to assist with management of the Fund.  Through this affiliation, both organizations benefit by being better service providers, and the theater community has a strong resource to turn to in times of trouble.


The first substantial contributor to TCBF was the Boston Theatre Marathon, established in 1999 by Kate Snodgrass, Artistic Director of Boston Playwrights’ Theatre, for the dual purpose of promoting the area’s wealth of playwrights and of contributing to the Fund.  In subsequent years, theaters throughout the region have participated in fund drives for the organization, raising tens of thousands of dollars and helping to make it possible for TCBF to provide over $145,000 in grants over the years.


Board of Directors


TCBF is run by a volunteer board made up of people from within and outside of the theater community of Greater Boston and the surrounding areas.  The current members are:


Amy Spalletta, President

Robert D. Murphy, Vice-President

Ilyse Robbins, Clerk

Karen Perlow, Treasurer


Larry Coen

Olivia D’Ambrosio

Patrick Gabridge

Micah Greene

Mary C. Huntington

Maureen Lane

Ginger Lazarus

Alex Lonati

Bill Mootos

Sarah Newhouse

David Remedios

Brian Robinson

Cheryl Singleton

Alexandra Smith

StageSource Partners

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal