Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
Theatre Hero Award
Share |

Do you know an individual who has made a difference to New England theater?


Can you name an organization that has proven to be a leader over the years?


Who is your theater hero?  StageSource encourages you to submit a nomination for the 2013 Theater Hero Award.


To submit a nomination, please complete the following information: 

  • Name of Nominee
  • Brief description of nominee’s accomplishments -- see guidelines below (250 word minimum and 400 word limit)
  • Name of person submitting nomination
  • Phone number or email address for name of person submitting nomination.

The nomination process will begin on April 5 and close on April 26. The award will be presented at the StageSource conference on June 29.   Only one nomination may be submitted per person. To nominate a Theater Hero Click Here.  For more information, call (617) 720-6066. 



Each year, the StageSource Board of Directors selects a recipient for the StageSource Theater Hero Award who is an exceptional member of the New England theater community.


This year the award will be presented at the StageSource conference in June.  The theme of the conference is “Redefining Success,” and we hope to honor as our theater hero a person or organization who has done exactly that – someone who has gone outside the box and changed the way they have pursued their career or changed the way an organization has pursued its own mission or strategy.


Nominees should be people or organizations who have demonstrated a history of service and commitment to the community in one or all of the following categories: leadership, support, inspiration, innovation or promotion.


- Spearheading new programs
- Collaborating with the community
- Fostering community building
- Serving on local boards, committees 


- Sharing wisdom, experience and expertise
- Championing new local talent
- Creating new opportunities and forums for artists
- Providing continuing education, mentoring and training 


- Pushing artists to work above and beyond their previous endeavors
- Creating a forum for innovation
- Reinventing a company's image, brand or sphere of influence
- Providing continuing education, mentoring and training


- Commissioning and producing new works
- Reaching new audiences
- Connecting with the community outside the theater space


Promotion of the art of theater throughout our region
- Performing in schools, community centers or underserved neighborhoods
- Serving as an advocate and/ or champion of theater as an art form
- Introducing theater into non-traditional spaces or arena

Past Theatre Hero Award recipients have included:

Jack Welch
, former Managing Director of Baker’s Plays (2000)
Kate Snodgrass, Artistic Director of Boston Playwrights’ Theatre (2001)
Wheelock Family Theatre (2002)
Spiro Veloudos, Producing Artistic Director, Lyric Stage Company of Boston (2003)
Jacqui Parker, Artistic Director, Our Place Theatre Project (2004)
Scott Edmiston, director and long-time StageSource board member (2005)
Susan Gassett, co-founder and Artistic Director of City Stage (2006)
James Spruill, co-founder of New African Company and longtime Associate Professor of Boston University (2007)
SpeakEasy Stage Company (2008)
Joyce Kulhawik (2009)
Michael Maso, Managing Director, Huntington Theatre Company (2010)
Jeffrey Poulos, StageSource Executive Director 2000-2010 (2011)

StageSource Partners